From the Olive Tree – Moynihan/O’Leary Duo


SKU: MOYOL 0101 Category:


“An authentic and musically profound ensemble”  – Guy Traviss, Classical Guitar Magazine, London.

Deirdre Moynihan (Soprano) and Alec O’Leary (Guitar) are recognised as one of Ireland’s leading duos. They are an engaging and energetic ensemble with a unique performance style that is charming yet dynamic. Their recital programs are innovative offering audiences an exhilarating concert experience. Having sculpted their individual musical identities for many years as soloists, Deirdre and Alec came together in 2010 to perform in the picturesque city of Galway as part of the Galway Music Residency concert series. Since then they have played many high profile concerts nationally and on the international stage. They have commissioned new pieces and arranged many works for voice and guitar including traditional Irish songs, film music and more well known repertoire from Spain, Italy and beyond.  Today they continue to evolve and develop their distinctive style while enjoying a busy concert schedule. The Moynihan/O’Leary musical partnership extends through the whole of this recording wherein they arranged many of the works together.


 Track Listing

  1. Brucia la Terra (from the Godfather III) – Nino Rota/Giuseppe Rinaldi 

Tres Canciones Españolas Joaquín Rodrigo

  1. En Jerez de la Frontera
  2. Adela
  3. De Ronda 
  4. Llorando – Roy Orbison/Joe Melson. Translated by Thania Sanz
  5. Verde Luna – Vincent Gómez

Canciones Españolas Antiguas Federico García Lorca                                                         

  1. El Café de Chinitas
  2. Las Morillas de Jaen
  3. Los Reyes de la Baraja 
  4. Los Pelegrinitos
  5. Anda Jaleo 
  6. La Tarara
  7. Zorongo
  8. Nana de Sevilla 
  9. Sevillanas del Siglo XVIII 
  10. Coplas del Pastor Enamorado – Joaquín Rodrigo